Wissenswertes über die Deutsche Bahn

Das majestätische Deutschland ist eines der faszinierendsten europäischen Länder. Atemberaubende Naturlandschaften, einzigartige Kultur, historische Traditionen und ein gut ausgebautes Schienennetz machen das Land zu einem hervorragenden Ziel für Zugreisen. Das deutsche Eisenbahnnetz bietet moderne und schnelle Züge mit einwandfreiem Service und Komfort. Ein weiterer wunderbarer Vorteil der deutschen Züge sind umfangreiche Fahrpläne und kurze Fahrzeiten, sodass Sie fast jeden Winkel des Landes schnell und sorgenfrei erreichen können. Auf dieser Seite haben wir sorgfältig detaillierte Informationen zu den deutschen Bahnen zusammengestellt und auch einige häufig gestellte Fragen zum Thema beantwortet!

 
Gesamtlänge der Schienen in Deutschland

Gesamtlänge der Schienen in Deutschland: 41,315 km/25,672 mi

Zugarten in Deutschland

Zugarten in Deutschland: reguläre und Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge

Anzahl der von uns verkauften Routen

Anzahl der von uns verkauften Routen: 15+

Schnellste Zuggeschwindigkeit in Deutschland

Schnellste Zuggeschwindigkeit in Deutschland: 300 kmh/186 mph

 
 

Top-Auswahl für deutsche Zugreisen

 
EuroCity Hochgeschwindigkeitszug

Der EuroCity-Hochgeschwindigkeitszug ist eine perfekte Option für Fernreisen in Deutschland. Dieser moderne Hochgeschwindigkeitszug bedient internationale Bahnstrecken in viele europäische Länder wie Österreich, Ungarn, die Tschechische Republik und Dänemark. Für Ihre Bequemlichkeit gibt es einige Reiseklassen, die alle eine Klimaanlage, bequeme Sitze mit großzügiger Beinfreiheit und geräumige Gepäckräume umfassen.

Railjet Hochgeschwindigkeitszug

Railjet-Züge, die von der Österreichischen Bundesbahn (OBB) betrieben werden, erfreuten sich bei Reisenden, die über Deutschland hinausreisen möchten, außerordentlicher Beliebtheit. Railjet-Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge bedienen 6 Strecken in Deutschland und verbinden diese mit Österreich. Den Passagieren stehen verschiedene Klassen zur Auswahl und sie können alle modernen Annehmlichkeiten an Bord genießen, darunter gemütliche Sitze, individuelle Steckdosen, kostenloses WLAN und spezielle Bereiche für Ihr Gepäck.

 
Railjet Xpress Zug

OBB Railjet Xpress ist der schnellste Servicezug, der Österreich mit den Nachbarländern verbindet. Von Deutschland aus bedient Railjet Xpress die Strecken München - Salzburg und München - Wien, die in 2 und 4 Stunden erreichbar sind. Um den Komfort der Passagiere zu gewährleisten, bietet RJX 3 Busklassen, ein Bordrestaurant, geräumige und gemütliche Sitze, Fahrradstellplätze und kostenloses WLAN.

 
Nightjet Nachtzug

Reisen in einem Nachtzug ist eine der besten Möglichkeiten, Europa zu erkunden. Der Nightjet-Nachtzug ist einer der komfortabelsten Nachtzüge der OBB, der Österreichischen Bundesbahn. Dieser Nachtzug ist nach heutigen Maßstäben ausgestattet und bietet den Fahrgästen maximalen Komfort. Nightjet bietet 3 Reiseklassen an: Schlafwagen, Liege und Standardsitze. Wenn Sie hungrig sind, gibt es immer ein Restaurantauto. Darüber hinaus gibt es in einigen Wagen einen speziellen Platz für Autos, Motorräder und Fahrräder.

 
InterCity-Express Zug

Der moderne, sichere und komfortable DB Intercity-Express (ICE) ist eine großartige Möglichkeit, Deutschland und seine Nachbarländer zu entdecken. Bequeme Sitzgelegenheiten mit großer Beinfreiheit, kostenlosem WLAN, Zonen für Mobiltelefone oder ruhiges Reisen, individuelle Steckdosen und Catering an Bord machen diesen Zug zu einem der angenehmsten Reiseerlebnisse. Auf Fernstrecken erreicht er eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 320 Stundenkilometern.

 
InterCity-Zug

Der Intercity-Zug ist ein Cousin des InterCity-Express DB und bietet eine hervorragende Verbindung zwischen den deutschen Großstädten und den europäischen Nachbarländern. Klimatisierte Abteile, Speisen und Getränke an Bord und eine Fahrgeschwindigkeit von bis zu 200 Stundenkilometern bieten jedem Reisenden Komfort und schnellen Service.

 
Tschechischer Eisenbahnzug

Die Züge der Tschechischen Eisenbahn bieten Regional- und Fernverkehrsdienste an und verbinden die Tschechische Republik mit vielen europäischen Ländern. Die tschechischen Bahnen bedienen die Strecken München - Prag und Prag - Dresden und bieten Schnelligkeit und Komfort für Ihre Reise. Insgesamt bieten alle CR-Züge bis zu 9 Reiseklassen, moderne Annehmlichkeiten an Bord und eine gute Gelegenheit, von Deutschland aus in die prächtige Tschechische Republik zu reisen.

 
Thalys Zug

Thalys Züge sind Ihre Tore nach Frankreich von Deutschland. Die Hochgeschwindigkeitszüge von Thalys bieten alles, was Sie während Ihrer Reise benötigen. Alle 3 Busklassen bieten komfortable Annehmlichkeiten an Bord, darunter Steckdosen, kostenloses WLAN, eine geräumige Gepäckaufbewahrung, gemütliche Sitze und eine Snackbar. All dies macht Ihre Reise letztendlich angenehm und sorgenfrei.

 
EuroNight Zug

Neben dem eigenen Nightjet betreibt OBB europaweit weitere Nachtzüge. Diese Gelegenheit ergibt sich aus der Zusammenarbeit mit den europäischen Partnerbahnen von OBB. Dank einer breiten Palette an angebotenen Dienstleistungen versprechen die EuroNight-Züge jedem Passagier ein komfortables Reiseerlebnis. Neben den üblichen Annehmlichkeiten an Bord beinhaltet eine Fahrt mit dem EuroNight-Zug immer das Frühstück.

 
PKP Intercity Zug

Die Marke InterCity präsentiert moderne, komfortable und sichere Züge. Neben Inlandsstrecken bedienen PKP IC-Züge auch internationale Ziele wie die Ukraine, Weißrussland, Österreich, Deutschland und viele andere. An Bord des PKP Intercity-Zugs können Sie Wagen mit bequemen Sitzen, Klimaanlage und Bordtoilettensystemen genießen. Zu den modernen Annehmlichkeiten zählen auch Steckdosen und automatische Türen. PKP Intercity-Züge möchten jedem die Möglichkeit geben, bequem zu reisen: die gut ausgestatteten Wagen können von Menschen mit Behinderungen, Passagieren mit kleinen Kindern oder Fahrrädern betreten werden.

Majestic Germany is one of the most fascinating European countries. Holding amazing natural landscapes, unique culture, historical traditions, and a well-developed railway network, the country turns into a great destination to discover by train. Germany railway network boasts modern and fast trains with impeccable service and comfort. Another wonderful advantage of Germany trains is extensive schedules and fast travel times, so you can reach almost every corner of the country quickly and worry-free. To make you meet a situation head-on, here we heedfully gathered detailed information about the Germany railway and asked some frequently asked questions on the topic as well.!

 
Overall length of rail tracks in Germany

Overall length of rail tracks in Germany: 41,315 km/25,672 mi

Types of trains in Germany

Types of trains in Germany: regular & high-speed

Number of routes we sell

Number of Germany routes sold on Rail.Ninja: 15+

Fastest train speed in Germany

Fastest train speed of Germany trains: 300 kmh/186 mph

 
 

Top Choices for German Train Travel

 
EuroCity High-Speed Train

EuroCity bullet train is a perfect option for long-distance train travel in Germany. This modern high-speed train serves international rail routes to many European countries like Austria, Hungary, the Czech Republic, and Denmark. For your convenience, there a few travel classes, all of them include air-conditioning, comfortable seats with generous legroom, and spacious luggage areas.

Railjet High-Speed Train

Operated by the Austrian Federal Railways (OBB), Railjet is the best thing since sliced bread. These trains take a leading position among travelers who plan to go beyond Germany. Railjet high-speed trains serve 6 routes in Germany, connecting it with Austria. Passengers are offered several classes to choose from and can enjoy all modern amenities on board, including cozy seats, individual power sockets, free Wi-Fi, and special areas for your luggage.

 
Railjet Xpress Train

OBB Railjet Xpress is the fastest service train, which connects Austria with neighboring countries. From Germany, Railjet Xpress serves Munich - Salzburg and Munich - Vienna routes that can be reached in 2 and 4 hours. To ensure passengers' comfort, RJX offers 3 coach classes, an onboard restaurant, spacious and cozy seats, bicycle spaces, and free Wi-Fi.

 
Nightjet Overnight Train

Traveling on a night train is one of the greatest ways to explore Europe. Nightjet Overnight train is one of the most comfortable overnight trains, operated by OBB, the Austrian Federal Railways. Being equipped according to nowadays standards, this night train offers maximum comfort for the passengers. Nightjet has 3 travel classes: sleeper, couchette, and seated coaches. If you're feeling hungry, there's always a restaurant car. In addition, in some cars, there is a special place for cars, motorbikes, and bicycles.

 
InterCity-Express Train

Modern, safe and comfortable DB Intercity-Express (ICE) is a great way to discover Germany and its neighboring countris. Comfortable seating with large legroom, free Wi-Fi, zones for using mobile phones or quiet travel, individual sockets, and onboard catering make this train one of the most pleasant travel experiences. On long-distance routes, it reaches a top speed of 320 kilometers per hour (200 mph).

 
InterCity Train

A cousin of DB's InterCity-Express, Intercity train offers a great connection between Germany's major cities as well as neighboring European countries. Air-conditioned compartments, onboard food and drinks, and travel speed of up to 200 km/h (124 mph) are to provide every traveler with convenience and fast service.

 
Czech Railways Train

Czech Railways trains provide regional and long-distance services, connecting the Czech Republic with many European countries. Serving Munich - Prague and Prague - Dresden routes, Czech Railways provide fastness and comfort for your journey. In total, all CR trains provide up to 9 travel classes, modern onboard amenities, and a good opportunity to travel to the magnificent Czech Republic from Germany.

 
Thalys Train

Thalys trains are your gates to France from Germany. Thalys high-speed trains provide everything you may need during your journey. With 3 coach classes, comfortable onboard amenities include electrical outlets, free Wi-Fi, spacious luggage storage, cozy seats, and a snack bar. All this makes your trip ultimately pleasant and enjoyable.

 
EuroNight Trains

In addition to its own Nightjet, OBB offers further night trains throughout Europe. This opportunity is made in cooperation with OBB's European partner railways. They operate coaches and services, providing a comfortable travel experience. Besides standard onboard amenities, a trip on EuroNight train always includes breakfast.

 
PKP Intercity Train

The InterCity brand presents modern, comfortable, and safe trains. Besides domestic routes, PKP IC trains also serve international destinations including Ukraine, Belarus, Austria, Germany, and many others. Onboard the PKP Intercity train, you can enjoy carriages with comfortable seats, air-conditioning, and onboard toilet systems. Modern amenities also include electric sockets and automatic doors. PKP Intercity trains strive to give the opportunity to travel in comfort to everybody: the modern carriages can be accessed by people with disabilities, passengers traveling with small children, or bicycles.

F.A.Q.

Commonly Asked Questions About Rail Travel in Germany

What is the fastest train in Germany?

The Intercity Express trains are the fastest trains in Germany. They are capable of reaching speeds of 320 km/p (200 mph), which makes a 616 km-ride from north Berlin to south Munich only a 4-hour ride! Besides, the trains provide wonderful onboard amenities so you have a perfect train journey experience.

How many train stations are there in Germany?

There are about 5,400 railway stations in Germany. All of them are owned and operated by DB Station & Service, the Deutsche Bahn subsidiary. To denote the stations’ level of service, they are divided into seven categories.

What is the largest train station in Germany?

Leipzig Hauptbahnhof is not only the largest train station in Germany but also in entire Europe by floor area. Being the central railway terminus in Leipzig, it takes 83,460 square meters and has 19 overground platforms. In addition, it is also very popular as a large shopping center.

 

Read more F.A.Q.

Germany Rail Map